Pirate's Social Club

Arrr, I be a pirate!

Moderator: All Things Mods

Pirate's Social Club

Postby Firebird X on Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:30 pm

Howdy!

I'm the head of the Pirate's Social Club here at my University, so I thought I'd come down here and check out the forums! We basically drink lots of grog, eat lots of food, go out to lakes (we're in arizona, no seas) and build our own ships/cannons and shoot each other and try to board each others ships.

Now, quick question. I'm by no means a fashion expert, so while shopping for pirate regalia, I quickly realized I had no idea what the names for the various components were. Ruffled shirt? A sash? I'm really not sure. If anybody knows of a good resource (either online or in AZ, USA) to get pirate stuff, or the names of the articles of clothing, that would be of much use!

When we're not at the lake, we have seminars on campus on a variety of topics such as:

Barnicles: Cooking for pirates
How to cure scurvy in 3 easy steps
Concepts and Tactics of naval warfare
Basic Carpentry 101
How to talk like a pirate
Treasure map reading 101

If you guys have any ideas for more seminars that we could hold (each one is about 3 hours long), that would be fantastic! I look forward to hearing some of your ideas!

:fsm_yarr:
JRS
Firebird X
Conchigliette Convert

Postby DaveL on Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:11 pm

YArrrrr...

Welcome laddy. There be nuthin better than a few piratey courses for the new recruits. Last year Oi's wuz invited to give a few courses on the followin'

Introduction to Distilling
Pillaging - Managing your ill gained assets
Bird Handling 101
Advanced Beard Management
Getting the most from your prosthetic limb(s)
The joy of corporal punishment

These topics will have yer crew talkin fer hours on end.