My ink.

Found a stunning new portrayal of His Noodly Majesty? New art, adapted art, links to do-it-yourself art? Realistic, conceptual, whatever? Post it here.

Moderator: All Things Mods

My ink.

Postby CaiCaden on Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:28 am

A newbie here so i thought I'd post some pics of some of my ink.
Hope it meets with peoples approval.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd13 ... G_0059.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd13 ... AACs8p.jpg
CaiCaden
Conchigliette Convert

Re: My ink.

Postby Tigger_the_Wing on Fri May 04, 2012 6:05 am

Weren't those painful? :shocked:
Tigger_the_Wing
She Who Gets It

Postby Roland Deschain on Sat May 05, 2012 10:50 pm

Nice Darwin fish, and the Pastafarian fish looks fresh! They're becoming more popular now, and this is helping to spread the word. RAmen.

Tig, i've know people who've sat through a tattoo and not flinched, and others who've passed out at the same. I think i'd probably pass out, lol. :haha:
Roland Deschain - Half prophet, half gunslinger, all Pastafarian!

"Since Alexander Pearce escaped, over 250 people have disappeared in the Tasmanian wilderness. No remains have ever been found." - Dying Breed
Roland Deschain
Sorcerer of Sauce

Postby Roy Hunter on Sun May 06, 2012 3:47 am

It's mostly about where it is on the body. Some areas of the body have a higher concentration of nerve endings in the skin than others, so hands and face would be much more painful than arms and chest. Take a look at this fellow:

The larger the body part, the more nerve endings in it. So you have loads in your hands, lips, tongue and ears, but not so many in your limbs and trunk.

Another factor is the proximity to bones, ligaments and tendons. Ankle tattoos are painful because the skin is right on top of the bones and near ligaments. Tattoos on biceps, pectorals etc. less painful because of the layer of flesh under the skin, and no moving parts to speak of.